Buddhism is one of the oldest religions on earth and it was started between 4th or 6th BCE. The religion was spread by a man named Siddharta Gautama who gave teachings about his sufferings, nirvana and rebirth in India. He used several different images and symbols to illustrate his teachings of Buddhism. There are eight types of symbols of Buddhism and most of believers say that these symbols represent gifts that God gave to Buddha at the time he got enlightenment. People are not sure of the meaning and roles of the images were to early Buddhism because their symbolic and representative nature was not well explained in the early texts. Some of the most common and earliest symbols of Buddhism are the Dharma Wheel, Stupa, and the Lotus Flower. But in overall currently there are a total of eight auspicious Buddhist symbols which are explained below;


image source

The Dharma Wheel

It is traditionally signified with eight spokes and it has a wide range of meanings. It originally meant royalty but later it was used in a Buddhist perspective based on the pillars of Ashoka during the 3rd century B.C.E. The Dharma Wheel in most instances is seen to be referring to the historical process of the teachings of Buddha Dharma. The eight spokes in the wheel signifies the noble eight-fold path.

The Precious Umbrella

The precious umbrella symbolizes the activity of protection of beings from harmful things like illnesses, harmful spirits, and obstacles that we humans encounter in life. It also signifies protection from all types of temporary and enduring sufferings of human. In simple understanding the precious umbrella just signifies protection of humans from suffering and harmful forces that can destroy us. The precious umbrella can also mean what you can be able to enjoy from the shade of the precious umbrella.

The Two Golden Fish

In ancient times the two golden fish were representative of the Ganges and the Yamuna rivers. Through accounts of interpretation they mean luck and fortune. The two golden fish also mean courageousness and fearlessness that one has enabling him/her to face the ocean of suffering and being able to swim easily and freely like fish without fear in the water.

The Right-coiled White Conch

The white conch has been used in many countries as a traditional war horn. The white conch shell that coils to the right in Buddhism means the deep and joyful sound of Dharma’s teachings. It also means enlightening people to wake up from ignorance.

The Victory Banner

It is a significance of how Buddha was victorious over the demon Mara. The demon Mara in Buddhism is associated with passion, lust and pride. This banner of victory is used to remind Buddhists to able to win over their own lust, pride and passion for them to be able to achieve enlightenment.

The Endless Knot

The endless knot symbolizes the mutual reliance of religious doctrine and secular affairs. The endless knot also signifies how wisdom and compassion is inter-twined.

The Lotus Flower

This flower signifies the wholesome purification of the defilement’s of the body, speech and mind.

The Vase of Treasure

This vase of treasure in Buddhism signifies a very long bliss of long life, wealth and prosperity plus all the liberties of this world.



Comments are closed.

Pin It